[LN Review] Fate/Prototype: Sougin no Fragments Vol. 1








Fate/Prototype: Sougin no Fragments (Fragments of Blue and Silver) is one of the numerous spin-offs of the Fate/ franchise, written by Sakurai Hikaru, former scenario writer for Liar-soft and the writer of the Steampunk Series games. The spin-off is based on the original concept for the Fate/ series, with a male King Arthur and a female protagonist. Fragments is the story of the Grail War that happens 8 years before – a Grail War in Tokyo, 1991.

Fate/Prototype: Sougin no Fragments vol. 1 is about cooking.

You might have heard Type-Moon fans joke about how Fate/stay night is 70% cooking. In Fate/Prototype‘s case, it’s no longer a joke – every chapter has scenes where a character either eats food, describe someone eating food, describe someone cooking food, or is cooking food.

And somehow, it’s still more compelling than half of Fate/stay night‘s fights.

Continue reading


Ourai no Gahkthun: Primer and Impressions

ss (2014-09-21 at 05.30.37)輝きを持つ者よ。尊さを失わぬ、若人よ。
O, brilliant one.  O, young one who lost not your splendor.
Your voice has been heard. Call, for I shall heed.

The year 1908. The 20th century had only started – the age of steam-powered Engines holds a lot of promise for Europe. Exported from the faraway world of Kadath, the Engines started a technological revolution – all the world’s great cities have embraced this new technology. As a result, the once-blue skies are now shrouded in grey, and the once-clean oceans are dyed with a putrid black.

In the Kingdom of France lies the Marseille Offshore Academia – a city of learning which stands on an artificial island. It is a bustling city with its own culture, founded solely by the students who live and study within its walls.

A young lady – a poor student of the Academia – once again goes to her job at the Dropout District. Every night, she works as a helper at a restaurant until right before dawn. Overworked, fatigued, and helplessly lonely, she looks up to the tower Chateau d’If. It is whispered that at its summit, there is a bell that grants the wish of any student. As she looks at the summit with her golden eyes, what will she wish for?

In the middle of April 1908, for the first time in the school’s history, a transfer student arrives. Proud and haughty, on his first day he declares to everyone in his classroom:

“Nikola Tesla. 72 years old. Transfer student.
Students of the Marseille Offshore Academia. My hundred thousand friends who have been cursed by Fate.
I will, with these hands, save all of you.”

At the top of Chateau d’If, the Bell of Gahkthun rings in celebration. Thus begins Ourai no Gahkthun, the sixth entry to Hikaru Sakurai’s Steampunk Series.

Continue reading