[Translation] Gakkou Gurashi Episode 2 – Interview with Ozawa Ari and Minase Inori

This is a translation of the interview with Ozawa Ari (Kurumi) and Minase Inori (Yuki) after Gakkou Gurashi episode 2’s recording session. The original transcript can be found here. As always, spoilers for episode 2 ahead. Enjoy reading!

――Episode 2 has finished airing! This time, Kurumi is the episode’s spotlight character and plays the part of narrator.

Ozawa

That’s right. We get to see a glimpse of Kurumi’s past. Back in episode 1, she was all energetic, running around and all, but in episode 2 we see that she’s just putting up a front. A lot of scenes showed that in this episode.

――On the other hand, what were your thoughts about playing Yuki, Minase-san?

Minase

It wasn’t really any different! (laughs) Just like Ari-chan said, when you rewatch episode 1 while keeping in mind what Kurumi experienced in reality, everyone feels more mature. Like, they’re very good at hiding what they think. There’s this feeling of “what are they actually thinking behind those smiles?”, which changes how you view Kurumi’s character. It’s an episode that makes you like Kurumi a lot more, I think.

――What surprised you the most during recording?

Ozawa
It’s not really surprising, but what drew my attention was the flower vase. At the club room, there’s a flower vase, and the script had a note on what the flower growing in it symbolized. I think it was “stay as a flower bud”? It’s interesting symbolism.

Minase
We were all curious, so we talked about what it could possibly mean.

――It’s a show where you want to examine the details, isn’t it?

Ozawa
Since we’ve only seen the school at this point, we’re all wondering about whether the situation is only limited to the area. Those kinds of details are what we’d really like to know.

――Now that we’re starting to see what the world is like in the show, if you two got stuck in that situation, what will you do first?

Minase
Umm… call the police?

Ozawa
There’s no police! (laughs)

Minase
Even the police are gone?!

Ozawa
Yeah, there aren’t any reliable people around. (laughs) As for me, I’d probably give up.

――How pessimistic. (laughs)


Ozawa

I think about that a lot. “What if something bad happens?” And I’d say, “I give up.” (laughs)

Minase
True, if I’m just going to get killed anyway, I might as well just give up from the start. (laughs)

Ozawa
Rather than be desperate and suffer, I would choose to surrender.

Minase
Once I get attacked by “them”, I’d hug myself and get killed. (laughs) I don’t want to get cornered, so I’ll just choose to die myself.

Ozawa
I’d be determined to die right there. I would absolutely not fight back. (laughs)

――How dark! (laughs) So, for a slight change of topic, there were a number of slice-of-life scenes in episode 2. If you were to choose a favorite among those, what would it be?

Minase
I’d pick the scene where Mii-kun goes to wake Yuki up. Mii-kun goes and slams a pan with a ladle, but Yuki just goes “that’s not how you use a ladle!”. (laughs) It just feels like something that Yuki would say. I really like Yuki’s and Mii-kun’s interactions. I feel like I’d act like Yuki if I had a little sister or junior like Mii-kun. When I listen to Takahashi-san’s acting, I really hear the charm of a “responsible female underclassman” from her voice!

Ozawa
I really liked the scene where Yuki and Taroumaru sang together. The way they just bounce off each other was so cute! If that song comes out on the soundtrack, I’ll go out and buy it. (laughs)

Minase
He was saying all of their names, wasn’t he?

Ozawa
He was introducing everyone! (laughs)

Minase
That part of the script was left blank, so we were told to just do whatever we want.

――Ah, so that part was ad-libbed.

Minase
So, we decided to go and introduce everyone! (laughs)

Ozawa
Everyone’s reactions to their names being called was also ad-libbed. As Kurumi, I went “Oi!” (laughs) That was a really fun part.

――Episode 2 also had the test of courage. Did you two ever do that?

Ozawa
Just once, either at camp or at a school trip. Although it wasn’t really scary; it would be a huge mess if a ghost did come out! (laughs)

――So Ozawa-san, you believe in ghosts?

Ozawa
They’re there, I’m telling you! Probably… I’ve never seen one though. (laughs) Back then we just walked up a mountain path, but walking in the dark away from all the city lights was really scary.

――So no haunted houses?

Ozawa
I’m the jittery type, so I’d never go inside one. Even when I know it’s coming, I don’t like loud sounds.

――How about you, Minase-san?

Minase
I have, I have. It was at a camp like in Ari-san’s story. But it wasn’t scary at all.

――(laughs)

Minase
They didn’t have the atmosphere for it! (laughs) I don’t believe in ghosts, but I felt bad so I pretended I did. But I think there are good spirits, at least.

Ozawa
Like guardian spirits!

Minase
Yeah. And, just like people, shouldn’t there be bad ghosts too if there are good ones? Since I was thinking like that, I didn’t really think it was scary. If one did show up, we’d come to understanding if we talk to them, right? (laughs)

――Are there even ghosts like that? (laughs) That aside, based on what we’ve seen up to now, can you share your expectations for what’s coming up?

Ozawa
The anime is presenting some things differently from the manga… For example, Mii-kun’s already with the group. So even if you’ve already read the manga, the turns the anime takes would still be fun to watch. How the anime does the scenes that come later is something I look forward to.

Minase
Episode 2 put Kurumi in the spotlight and revealed parts of the group’s backstory, but it’s not everything yet. Up until now we’ve only seen some fragments, some key points about them, so I think these fragments would start piling up and form a bigger piece as the show goes on. And when those fragments come together at the end, would we see a new aspect of Yuki, or any of the other characters? So, I hope everyone enjoys watching it in real time every week, without sleeping in! (laughs)

Leave a Reply

