[Translation] Gakkou Gurashi Episode 1 – Cast Interview

This is a special interview with the Gakkou Gurashi cast after episode 1’s recording session. The original source is here. Before anyone asks, yes, I plan on translating all of them eventually. It goes without saying, but there are spoilers for episode 1 ahead. Enjoy reading!

――Are you all familiar with the manga?

Minase Inori (Minase)
When you look at the title, the way it’s written in hiragana [1] makes you think it’s a fluffy, happy, relaxing story. You’d think of these hyper girls who just have fun everyday and go “I don’t wanna go home!”… something like that.

――But then… (laughs)

Minase
I was really shocked when I read the manga. The drawings are really adorable, but there was that one chilling scene that really got to me. And it was all downhill from there.

Ozawa Ari (Ozawa)
I figured it out when I saw the title and Yuki’s illustration on the cover. I first thought, “oh, this looks cute!”, but their uniforms are all tattered and torn up. Just what the heck do they do at school?! (laughs)

――I see. (laughs)

Ozawa
When I took the audition, Yuki’s lines were all fluffy and lighthearted but everyone else had scenes where they had serious expressions on their faces. I was really surprised at how different the story was from the impression it gave.

M. A. O.

I thought it was a happy, slice-of-life 4-koma kind of manga, like everyone else. When I read the manga for the audition, I was like “this isn’t the happy slice-of-life I know!”

――(everyone laughs)

M. A. O.
So the “Live” part of “School-Live!” was that kind of “Live”.

Takahashi Rie (Takahashi)
I read the manga before I read the audition script. So first I saw the cover. There’s a pink-haired girl and the title is “School-Live!” so I thought, “This is going to be a cutesy story.” And when you turn the page, Yuki’s sleeping so soundly. Just when I thought, “ahhh, this is going to be so relaxing!”, the atmosphere starts to become more and more creepy and then… (laughs)

――Of course. (laughs)

Takahashi
At first I didn’t know what was happening so I replayed what happened in my head. I remember looking over the pages again and again.

Kayano Ai (Kayano)
I looked at the website first when I got the offer. I thought, “Wow, these girls are so cute and look so happy! I’ll play a teacher in this story huh, sounds fun!” (laughs). When I looked at the materials for the audition, I saw a fairly serious scene, and from there I felt that Megu-nee isn’t just an ordinary air-headed teacher.

――You saw the signs, huh (laughs).

Kayano
So I went ahead and read the manga. The cover and the content kinda don’t match… (laughs) It was a lot more “survival” than I thought it would be. “Never judge a book by its cover” has never been so true for me.

――I see, I see. (laughs) So now that episode 1 has aired, are there any particular scenes you’d like to talk about?

Takahashi
Taroumaru hates Mii-kun! (laughs) That wasn’t in the manga, so I didn’t think Mii-kun would be hated that much. And my senior, Katou Emiri, was playing Taroumaru… her “woof!”s were so cute! (laughs) That was something I discovered for the first time.

Kayano
Taroumaru really shone in this episode huh. All of his reactions and faces were so cute too! Other than that, there was the last scene. It was one of those scenes where you’d want to know how viewers who don’t know anything about the show would react. If I had acted it out without reading the manga, I’d probably be shocked too.

Minase
If you only listen to the voices, it’s a completely normal show – it sounds like some girls chasing a dog and finding it – but what you get to see is just so out there. How Yuki sees the world is different from how everyone else sees it. The moment when you realize this is just so chilling. It’s like, there’s a lot of fear behind the cuteness, or it feels like there’s this creeping feeling on your back.

Kayano
It’s a lot more “chilling” than “scary”. It’s the kind that makes you go, “what’s going to happen next?”

Ozawa
It’s the kind that makes you go “I wanna see more!” while covering your eyes.

Kayano
It makes you look at Yuki in a completely different light. You get worried about her and ask “is she okay?”

Takahashi
She was smiling while closing the window! That was really scary. (laughs)

Kayano
And then the wind blows into the window. Almost makes you want to shout, “Hey that window is broken!”

M. A. O.
Even if you know what’s going to happen, you can’t help but go “it’s finally gotten there” when that last scene shows. Even before that, there were these parts were the scenes look off. Like, in one part, there was a broken window that’s out of focus. When you get to the twist and look back, you go, “Oh my God, right there!” (laughs)

――In that sense, it makes you want to rewatch the episode after you’ve seen it.

Ozawa
I’m very curious about Rii-san. Even in the show we don’t really know what she’s thinking. I especially want to know how she’d take it if something goes wrong.

Kayano
It’s like she has the most secrets about her. (laughs) She doesn’t tell anyone anything.

Ozawa
Right? She doesn’t talk much and is always just observing everyone, so she’d be the scariest if she’s ever left alone.

M. A. O.
She’s probably just protecting something important! (laughs)

Kayano
I’d have to go with Yuki-chan. She’s the protagonist, and her smile is hard to look at. I’d also like to know what each character feels during every scene. I’d like to hear that in something like a BD special.

Takahashi
This show revolves around the girls’ everyday lives. While everyone is working towards the same goal, each of them has a different way of coping. I’d be glad if we can see those as the show goes on.

――Finally, I brought us some hard tack, which showed up in the show!

Ozawa
Wow, I haven’t had hard tack in a while.

Kayano
You weren’t given those in school?

Ozawa
I was, for class!

Minase
I’ve never had any…

Everyone
Whaaat?!

(everyone starts eating some hard tack)

Minase
Whoa, they’re kinda like cookies. I thought they’d be softer.

Kayano
I think they have to be dehydrated so that they’ll last longer.

Ozawa
The sesame seeds make these taste good.

M. A. O.
Yeah, it’s delicious!

Takahashi
Hey, this one looks like it has candy bits.

Kayano
Eh, candy bits?

――Ah, that’s so you can also get sugars from it.

Ozawa
I wonder if they’ll come out if I turn over the can.

(everyone turns over their cans)

Takahashi
Ahh, there’s a whole lot! And they’re huge!

Ozawa
So much!

M. A. O.
It’s like treasure! (laughs)

Ozawa
I think… this can is wonderful! (laughs)

Minase
It tastes better if we eat together. So this is the taste of survival…


Notes:
[1] – Writing things in hiragana is usually seen as childish.

Leave a Reply

