[EN Lyrics] Hesitation Snow (Hatsuyuki Sakura OP)

Title: Hesitation Snow
Artist: fripSide feat. Yoshino Nanjou
From: Hatsuyuki Sakura 2nd Opening Theme

Well, I did another one. I actually haven’t finished Hatsuyuki Sakura yet, so I think I’ll be revisiting this TL once I’m done with it. This one was easier to decipher than Asphodelus, but the lyrics at the chorus part are kinda weird. I suspect I’ll get what they mean once I finish the VN, but until then, this’ll probably do.

儚い欠片 舞い散る
Fleeting fragments fall and scatter
その光 全て照らし 導き逢う…
And their light guides the way

壊れてゆく 感情(思い)の果て
At the end of my crumbling emotions
いつかの夢を捨てるよ
I threw away the dream I once had
正解の無い 選択肢しか
From the choices I have left
僕に残されていないなら…
None of them seem to be right

季節は既に暗く冷たく
The seasons have turned cold and dark
温もり求めた心
And my heart seeks warmth
君は現れ 時間は止まり
Time stopped when you appeared
物語が始まった…
And the story began…

真実に近づけば 君を守ることでしか
I had to start protecting you to get closer to the truth
想い示せないまま 冷たい無情が絡まる
So I froze my heart to stop my feelings for you

狂っている 定義が今
As the definitions start to blur
調和の糸 手繰り寄せ
The threads of harmony start to gather
堕ちていった 純粋な瞳(め)に
As your eyes lose their innocence
映る何もかも 歪んでく…
Everything reflected in them starts to warp

耳元響く君の声さえ
When your voice echoes in my ear
時には痛みに変わり
I start to feel pain
悔しくなって 傷をつけても
There’s no meaning to be found
その意味は何処にも無い
In the regrets that I feel in my wounds

永遠を求めれば
If I go and seek eternity
君の心に近づく?
Will I be any closer to your heart?
終わりの無い理想が残酷な痛みを誘う
My endless dreams will only keep hurting me

誰一人も 責められずに
There’s no point in blaming anyone
悪いのは 自分だったと
It was all my fault
想い込んで 耐え切れなくて
I prepared myself; I couldn’t bear it anymore
僕は生まれ変わる 心ごと…
My heart is reborn

取り戻した 記憶さえも
Though my memories have returned,
どこか 信じられなくて
I still couldn’t believe
世界中が 色を失くしてく…
When I realized that
もう 気づいてた
the colors of this world have vanished

狂っている 定義が今
As the definitions start to blur
調和の糸 手繰り寄せ
The threads of harmony start to gather
堕ちていった 純粋な瞳(め)は
I got drawn into your eyes
僕を見透かして…操ってた
As they lose their innocence and see through me

誰も 責められずに
There’s no one to blame
悪いのは 自分だったと
It was all my fault
想い込んで 耐え切れなくて
I prepared myself; I couldn’t bear it anymore
僕は生まれ変わる 心ごと…
My heart is reborn

儚い欠片 舞い散る
Fleeting fragments fall and scatter
その光 全て照らし 導き逢う…
And their light guides the way…

3 thoughts on “[EN Lyrics] Hesitation Snow (Hatsuyuki Sakura OP)

  1. Nice job!
    In case you want to revisit the text once again, I thought I could add a few remarks:

    正解の無い 選択肢しか / 僕に残されていないなら…
    From the choices I have left / None of them seem to be right

    Since “nokosareta” is passive (either the ‘unlucky passive’ or an actual one), putting it as “choices left to me” might be better, as it insinuates an outside force that stripped her of her choices, rather than the choices disappearing of their own accord / by her own actions.

    誰も 責められずに / 悪いのは 自分だったと / 想い込んで 耐え切れなくて
    There’s no one to blame / It was all my fault / I prepared myself; I couldn’t bear it anymore
    僕は生まれ変わる 心ごと…
    My heart is reborn

    “Omoikomu” specifically means “to tell yourself that “, or “to be under the (usually wrong) impression that “. So the lines are actually tightly linked: “Without blaming anyone, I told myself that I was at fault – and thus couldn’t bear it anymore…”

    As for the last line: I wish I could somehow grok that one. Since it’s at the end of that long chain of -te forms, it has to be the conclusion to all the the stuff that came before, but I can’t quite yet make sense of what they are trying to say here. Maybe I would understand it if I had played the game… (I still plan to, so no spoilers please ^^;)

    • Sorry for the (super) late reply, but thanks for the suggestions! I plan to revisit my TLs in the future, and especially this one when I actually finish the damned game w

  2. this is great! the song is so haunting, it gives me chills every time i listen to it. and now that i have lyrics to follow, it’s even better. thank you.

Leave a Reply

